Direktlänk till inlägg 30 oktober 2013

Farewell to the Army

Av loren adams - 30 oktober 2013 09:25

On account of that my days with the Army are numbered.. I feel promted looking back.. Farewell to the Army, some 148 years ago:

    "

Duty is the most sublime word in our language. Do your duty in all things. You cannot do more. You should never wish to do less."***"Their sleepless, bloodshot eyes were turned to me.Their flags hung black against the pelting sky. Their jests and curses echoed whisperingly, As though from long-lost years of sorrow - Why,You're weeping! What, then? What more did you see? A gray man on a gray horse rode by. — Passage from Traveller, a novel by Richard Adams

----

"After four years of arduous service, marked by unsurpassed courage and fortitude, the Army of Northern Virginia has been compelled to yield to overwhelming numbers and resources. I need not tell the survivors of so many hard-fought battles who have remained steadfast to the last that I have consented to this result from no distrust of them; but feeling that valor and devotion could accomplish nothing that could compensate for the loss that would have attended the continuance of the contest, I determined to avoid the useless sacrifice of those whose past services have endeared them to their countrymen.

 By the terms of the agreement, officers and men can return to their homes and remain until exchanged. You may take with you the satisfaction that proceeds from the consciousness of duty faithfully performed, and I earnestly pray that a merciful God will extend to you his blessing and protection. With an unceasing admiration of your constancy and devotion to your country, and a grateful remembrance of your kind and generous consideration of myself, I bid you all an affectionate farewell." 

Farewell to the Army of Northern Virginia* by Robert E. Lee:

 

 

Från
    Kom ihåg mig
URL

Säkerhetskod
   Spamskydd  

Kommentar

Av loren adams - 20 maj 2016 22:46


  i have submitted my retirement letter already

Av loren adams - 27 april 2016 14:34


Wake up my dear, To this beautiful morning dew,Wakeup sweetheart,As everything is so new,Wakeup to the wonderful sun rays,As I wish you have a beautiful day,A very good morning to you! My Queen and my evrythin   ...

Av loren adams - 27 april 2016 07:06


B-52 was sent to destroy an IS weapons storage facility in the Iraqi town of Qayyarah, about 35 miles (60 kilometers) south of Mosul    Washington (AFP) - The US Air Force for the first time deployed a B-52 bomber against the Islamic State, the P...

Av loren adams - 31 mars 2016 15:35

 I feel worried when you didn't write me..  that was why i sent such mail to you,...Im sorry i was worried here when i didn't hear from you. i cant leave you honey..we are family only you in my whole World Honey.I Love You Honey We need to ha...

Av loren adams - 24 mars 2016 08:14


 

Ovido - Quiz & Flashcards