Alla inlägg den 27 oktober 2013

Av loren adams - 27 oktober 2013 21:04

 
My name is Loren Adams. I am a Veterinary doctor in the US Army..and a major. By the year 2000 I decided to make a change. I sold my veterinary practice in New Liberty, Iowa and joined the Army Reserve. Soon I was was deployed around the world doing veterinary work.
Our team worked with dogs, did food inspections for all the meals the military eats, and we were involved in civil affairs, working with civilians in war zones.
 
I was the sole veterinarian with the 734th ADT that landed on Afghan soil in July 2010.
 
I knew there was much to do. A previous Guard unit had begun work on vaccinating and worming animals in the area. So I just tweaked the program. We hired local vets and began work to educate them on the importance of vaccinations and food security.
Our daily routine varied. I started a rabies-prevention program that eventually vaccinated 1,400 dogs. I began speaking around the province, meeting with public health directors, veterinarians and students.  
Other days I found myself conducting seminars on herd health, nutrition, surgical techniques and the importance of animal post-mortems. We also treated thousands of animals with vaccines and dewormers, ranging from sheep and cattle to dogs.
    
Our team's veterinary technician focused on start-up poultry businesses for Afghan women and I assisted her in educational seminars to teach basic animal health -- simple veterinary techniques, how to treat for parasites and diseases.  
I found the Afghan veterinarians eager to learn, no matter where they were. One day I showed them how to neuter a dog from the back of a pickup truck.  
 Despite the team's efforts, I am frustrated. People there are so poor, they're just doing what they can to survive.
But in an area mired in war, I still sees reason for optimism when it comes to veterinary advances.
  I think back to America before automobiles, veterinarians largely took care of the horses. It wasn't that long ago that people started to recognize the importance of vaccinations, and vets began to take on a greater role in the U.S

Av loren adams - 27 oktober 2013 19:45

 Little did I know back in 2010 that 3 years + I should still be deployed at War Zones in Afghanistan.
But now I feel it is time to get home and rest.. my days are numbered.
 
At times I have been thinking about my retirement from the Military.Together with my bank and other parties, I have been drawing up a financial plan to honour these commitments.  It is my dream to set up a veterinary clinic again, and to relocate and simultaneously continue my business in civvy streets.
And I have someone I love so much.

Tidigare månad - Senare månad
Ovido - Quiz & Flashcards