Alla inlägg den 25 februari 2014

Av loren adams - 25 februari 2014 15:21

This is about one of the greatest US Military of all times. 

 

One morning in June 1917 landed the American supreme commander in Boulogne. His name was John Pershing. He was called Black Jack.
He still had no army with him. He was in a hurry to get started with the war. Behind a facial expression of constancy and an exterior of impeccable polish, which only an occasional English General reached up to, he kept back in Boulogne his impatience and his rising fury over welcome speeches and nonsense. He wanted to go and did not understand why the French lagged behind.

He was a poor boy from the Midwest, born in a hut while his father belonged to a navvy-team who built the railroads. He had ar one time been teacher in a small village school for negro children - throughout his career, he would always be known for being decent to negro soldiers, understanding them and winning their hearts. Along with officer training, he studied law, for he was never particularly fond of becoming a soldier. But that he become, and in the Indian wars in the Rocky Mountains and in the Spanish-American War he proved himself as one of the best.

Shortly before President Woodrow Wilson declared war on Germany and appointed Pershing - passing out a hundred generals who considered themselves as good - to lead the U.S Army to the Western Front, had Pershing´s wife and two daughters been burned to death. Only his young son had been rescued at the last moment. Much had not Black Jack talked before. Now he was almost mute.

Only when he belatedly in the afternoon with his small staff - all that is still there by the U.S military in Europe - came to Paris, he understood the delay. It was calculated that he would come only when work stopped in the French capital so the people could honor him.

Av loren adams - 25 februari 2014 11:11

When I look back
On the dreams I left behind;
Buried there in all my thoughts
It is you I always find.

I saw you then as I see you now
Through love's impassioned blindness,
A heart so fashioned there within
Filled with love and kindness.

How often has my heart declared
With anguish, for my words are few,
That the wind shall blow a little longer,
To keep me here with you.

Sweeter still are the pains of love.
The bonds of love grow stronger,
Even after the moonlight has gone to sleep,
I shall always love you longer.

No other can stir my heart so deep,
Or thrill me through and through,
And in my dreams there will never be
No other love but you.

When I look back to times gone by
There is one sure thing I know
It is you my love, who stole my heart
So many years ago.

   
Ovido - Quiz & Flashcards